Peak District – Walking – Crow Stones Edge

I set myself a little mission a few years ago, not something that is easily done but one i wish to complete none the leas… the mission was to walk every hill and every route in the Dark Peak area of the Peak District. crazy idea really but it’s one that gives me constant enjoyment and I have a very convenient way of keeping track. The method I have been using is the Combi Map feature over on ShareYourAdventure.com. Phil Sorrell is the genius behind “Social Hiking” and if you haven’t already I would highly recommend you head on over and have a look.

(function() { var po = document.createElement(“script”); po.type = “text/javascript”; po.async = true; po.src = “https://d15mj6e6qmt1na.cloudfront.net/assets/embed.js”; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(“script”)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(po, s); })();

20130909-140920.jpg

My starting point for today was the car park at the Langsett Reservoir, it’s an area that very familiar to me as I lived for a year at the nearbye village of Wharncliffe Side. I attended school in Stocksbridge and we spent many a happy hour on our bikes riding around the roads an up on to the moors.

I headed west through the forest and along the track that weaves its way to Hordron Clough, I then dropped down to the bridge over the river where I had my first break while enjoying the tranquility.

20130909-140708.jpg

The route then climbed up in to the moors past grouse shooting butts where I found empty shotgun shells and discarded litter. I removed the litter but left the shotgun shells incase… Well… You never know.

20130909-140714.jpg

20130909-140720.jpg

I then climbed up on to Howden Moor where the view opened up in front of me. I had amazing 360views of the surrounding area and the weather was perfect at this point. I had originally planned to head over to the Horse Stone and then back to Outer Edge but when I spotted the Crow Stones I knew I had to there for lunch.

(function() { var po = document.createElement(“script”); po.type = “text/javascript”; po.async = true; po.src = “https://d15mj6e6qmt1na.cloudfront.net/assets/embed.js”; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(“script”)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(po, s); })();

20130909-140735.jpg

20130909-140726.jpg

When you reach Crow Stones Edge you are treated to a stunning view down in to the Upper Derwent Valley. You can see the Howden and Derwent Reservoirs and pick out the River Derwent weaving its way to meet them. It was a little hazy today but I could pick out Win Hill and Lose Hill in the distance. I was completely mesmerised by the view so I ended up having lunch perched on a rock looking down the valley for over an hour.

20130909-140743.jpg

20130909-140750.jpg

After my extended lunch on Crow Stones Edge I walked across the moor towards Outer Edge, I was about half way across when I noticed I was being followed. A rather inquisitive Grouse was in hot pursuit so I stopped to let him catch up. Sadly it seemed like he was injured and I was uncertain about what to do. I had considered trying to catch him but he wouldn’t let me near him. I think he may had had an injured wing as he was attempting to fly but wasn’t getting very far. He followed me to the base of Outer Edge and then turned away. Maybe he was chasing me off 🙂

(function() { var po = document.createElement(“script”); po.type = “text/javascript”; po.async = true; po.src = “https://d15mj6e6qmt1na.cloudfront.net/assets/embed.js”; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(“script”)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(po, s); })();

I climbed up to the Trig Point above Outer Edge, took the obligatory and then headed south towards Margery Hill. I then took the Cut Gate Bridleway just before Margery Hill that heads down towards Mickledon Edge. I hope to return to this path very soon while cycling the Kinder Loop, my friend Andy and I plan to do this route in a few weeks time.

In no time at all I was back down at Langsett Reservoir where I had a nice gentle stroll through the woods that line the southern bank. There is a path that skirts right along the edge for a while before you have to rejoin the main road that runs along the reservoir wall. Before I knew it I was back where I started approximately 6 hours and 12 miles later.

20130909-140807.jpg

I must say I really enjoyed this route. The combination of the stunning views up top and the near deserted route up made for a thoroughly enjoyable day. My next walk is hopefully going to be to finish off the southern section of the Limestone Way. I recently walked the northern part from Matlock to Castleton and you can find that post at http://www.peakroutes.com/blog/peak-district-limestone-way-matlock-to-castleton/. The southern section will take me from Matlock down to Rocester via Tissington and the mouth of Dove Dale.

2 responses to “Peak District – Walking – Crow Stones Edge

  1. Nick Cockman September 15, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    Excellent post Dean, just stumbled across your site looking for peak district photography locations – looks like you’ve had some good adventures!

    • PeakRoutes September 16, 2013 at 12:59 am

      Hi Nick, thanks for stopping bye and taking the time to comment. Much appreciated. I try and get out in the Peaks as much as possible, hope you found the photography location you were looking for 🙂

Leave a comment